Sanctuary of The Holy Trinity

At the summit of Mount Cϋsen (“roccia” in Gaì, the language of shepherds), where there likely already existed a small chapel or shrine in a semi-dilapidated state, stands the oratory of the Holy Trinity. The first documented mention of its existence dates back to the visit of Bishop Cornaro in 1565.

The church was erected on the initiative of Giacomo Cominelli, known as Mistrù, from Parre. Over the centuries, it has undergone various restoration, conservation and expansion efforts. The stone bell tower with three bells dates back to 1610, while the adjacent caretaker’s house and the Sarnico stone colonnade date back to the 1700s.

A unique feature for centuries was the permanent presence of a hermit, a person dedicated to a solitary life, sometimes with religious duties, solely focused on the care of the church. Another unique feature is its northeast orientation instead of east (towards the rising sun, a symbol of Jesus) as is usually the case in church construction. This was a necessary choice due to the presence of the underlying living rock.

Of rare beauty is the fresco of the Madonna and Child, which has attracted the devotion of the faithful for almost five centuries. Today, the Church of the Holy Trinity has become one of the stops on the High Path of the Graces pilgrimage route.